Academic Excellence: Annual Awards Assembly

Valerie Ferrara

Because of the privilege and authority God has given me, I give each of you this warning: Don't think you are better than you really are. Be honest in your evaluation of yourselves, measuring yourselves by the faith God has given us.d]"> Just as our bodies have many parts and each part has a special function, so it is with Christ's body. We are many parts of one body, and we all belong to each other.

In his grace, God has given us different gifts for doing certain things well. So if God has given you the ability to prophesy, speak out with as much faith as God has given you. If your gift is serving others, serve them well. If you are a teacher, teach well. If your gift is to encourage others, be encouraging. If it is giving, give generously. If God has given you leadership ability, take the responsibility seriously. And if you have a gift for showing kindness to others, do it gladly.

Don't just pretend to love others. Really love them. Hate what is wrong. Hold tightly to what is good. Love each other with genuine affection, and take delight in honoring each other. Never be lazy, but work hard and serve the Lord enthusiastically. – Romans 12:3-11


There was an excitement and sound of chatter that had not been heard in 15 months, when the Boston Trinity Academy students and staff gathered together in the same space for the first time since in-person learning was shut down in March of 2020. Headmaster Frank Guerra welcomed everyone, saying that our mission and dedication had remained the same all through the pandemic, even though we all had to rise above obstacles never before encountered. It was a beautiful outdoor assembly to commemorate and honor the BTA scholars who have excelled this year, and showed how our community has risen above the challenges.

Mr. Robert Bradley, Chairman of the Boston Trinity Board of Trustees, added his welcome, offering congratulations to each prize winner. Prize Day is important to the Board, Mr. Bradley said, because the goal of the school's founders was to create a school not only based on faith in Christ, but also a place of diversity and academic rigor. All that we say and do is to glorify God, he said, and watching the other students enthusiastically congratulate the winners is something he loves.

The academic awards were bestowed upon students by Mr. Timothy Belk, Academic Dean:
The Marie Crandall World Language Award – Middle School recipient, Emma Hurst; 9th-10th grades, Keziah Belk; 11th-12th grades French, Jacob Pothier; 11th-12th grades Spanish, Luc Picard
Visual Arts – MS, Tolik Tran; 9th-10th grades, Margaret Halvorsen; 11th-12th grades, Eirene Belk
Science – MS, Paraskevi Terzides; 9th-10th, Zach Smith; 11th-12th, Landon Smith
English – MS, Ailish Dujardin; 9th-10th, Luke Hodge; 11th-12th, Esther Udoakang
Math – MS, Patrick Webb; 9th-10th, Evan Tao; 11th-12th, Alex Dai
History – MS, Savannah Booker; 9th-10th, Eleanor Peltz; 11th-12th, Janelle Goodwin
Bible – MS, Malcom Cermeno; for the most outstanding Senior Symposium project, senior Emma Verrengia.

Mr. Guerra recognized the faculty and staff who will not be with us next year. BTA is saying painful goodbyes to Dr. Hillary Blakely (Biology), Mr. Davis Franklin (Dean of Students), Mrs. Suzanne Weston (Development), and Mrs. Ann Connors (Business Director). Mrs. Alice Drew was chosen by her peers to receive the Katie Wiens Excellence in Teaching Award, and the tenth Alumni Recognition Award went to Zachary Ravichandran ('14).

Major Awards were presented next. The Middle School Performing Arts Award recipient was Naomi Pucci; The Rose Zvara Personal Achievement Award went to Mimi Amadi; Fiona Deabler received the Middle School Citizenship Award; Male Athlete of the Year was Josiah Perkins and Female Athlete of the Year, Chloe Booker. Jin Min received the Upper School Performing Arts Award; Mario Gonzales was chosen for the Board of Trustees Award, and Emma Verrengia got the Upper School Citizenship Award.

The annual Awards Chapel concluded with the presentation of the four Junior Book Prizes. The Brandeis Book Prize was awarded to Isabella Cusick; the Gordon College Faithful Leadership Prize to Jacob Pothier; the Harvard Book Prize to Masha Kruk; and the Dr. Michael Chen Leadership and Social Justice Book Prize to Deborah Adebanjo.

Congratulations to all of our outstanding students for jobs well done during this most unusual of years, and especially to this year's prize winners.